Fine Art · Heads Up!

Heads Up: “Pre-Raphaelite Drawing” by Colin Cruise

Here’s an art book that might appeal to fans of Jeffrey Jones and Barry Windsor-Smith, both of whom have had work featured on this blog:

Here are the details from Amazon.ca:

Pre-Raphaelite Drawing [Hardcover]
Colin Cruise (Author)

List Price: CDN$ 63.00
Price: CDN$ 39.69

# Hardcover: 248 pages
# Publisher: Thames & Hudson (April 1 2011)
# Language: English
# ISBN-10: 0500238812
# ISBN-13: 978-0500238813

“The paintings of the Pre-Raphaelite Brotherhood are widely known and loved, but this book presents for the first time a comprehensive survey of the intimate world of the Pre-Raphaelites drawings. Works by Dante Gabriel Rossetti, William Holman Hunt and John Everett Millais are set beside those of their followers Edward Burne-Jones, William Morris and Ford Madox Brown, as well as lesser-known figures such as James Collinson and Frederick Sandys. Copiously illustrated with Pre-Raphaelite drawings from public and private collections around the UK, the book features an illuminating text by the renowned art historian Colin Cruise, offering a fresh and intimate perspective on this much-loved group of artists.”

With the Amazon discount, the price is right. But I haven’t made up my mind yet whether or not I will buy the book. This is one I’d prefer to browse through in person before I order.

UPDATE (12 December 2010):

Shortly after I posted the “Heads Up” for Pre-Raphaelite Drawing by Colin Cruise, the price of the book at Amazon.ca jumped to CDN$50.40. If you order from Amazon.com, however, the price is a mere US$31.50 (plus shipping, if you don’t live in the USA). Even so, the total, shipping included, for a Canadian buyer is a mere US$42.06, which is actually less than the old price on Amazon.ca with free shipping but WITH TAX ADDED: CDN$43.65. Since the US and Canadian dollars are pretty much at parity, I have now made up my mind to take advantage of the current discount and have placed an order with Amazon.com. Nice thing about Amazon is that they make it easy and painless to cancel a pre-order if a better deal emerges at a different store at a later date.

UPDATE (21 December 2010):

Price dropped again at Amazon.ca, so I cancelled my Amazon.com order and ordered from Amazon.ca. The total this time around: CDN$ 39.00, tax included. And the lesson is: it pays to pay attention.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s