Jeffrey "Jeff" Catherine Jones

Jeffrey Catherine Jones, 2011 Chesley Award Finalist

This year, the Association of Science Fiction and Fantasy Artists (ASFA) is celebrating the 26th anniversary of the Chesley Awards, established in 1985 as ASFA’s peer awards to recognize individual works and achievements not otherwise recognized by the Hugo Awards, during a given year. The Chesleys were initially called the ASFA Awards, but were later renamed to honour famed astronomical artist Chesley Bonestell after his death in 1986. The awards are usually presented annually at the World Science Fiction Convention or at the North American Science Fiction Convention when the Worldcon is held outside of North America.

The ASFA site includes a complete list of the 2011 award finalists in each of eleven different categories, but the category that caught my eye was “Lifetime Artistic Achievement.” And the nominees are:

Jeffrey / Catherine Jones
Ian Miller
Moebius/Jean Giraud
Darrell K. Sweet
Boris Vallejo

It’s a distinguished list, but of course you know who I hope will win.

The Chesley Award winners in all eleven categories will be announced at Renovation, the 69th World Science Fiction Convention, to be held in Reno, Nevada, USA, from Wednesday, August 17 through Sunday, August 21, 2011.

I’ll update this post later to let you know if you know who won in his/her category.

UPDATE (11 December 2011):

I’m very, very late with this update, but it turns out that the winner of the 2011 Chesley Award for Lifetime Artistic Achievement was Boris Vallejo. All of the 2011 award winners are listed here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.